"Friday the 13th"

Many people are overly superstitious of the number 13..
Do not go out, today is the 13th….
No sorry I cannot buy your encyclopedia because it’s in 13 parts….
what :O ???

But what people don’t know is that the scaryyyyy superstition of the number 13 is accompanied of it coming on a Friday…..
Many do not know why, and I thought of researching it with the help of the amazing free encyclopedia….WIKIPEDIA….

So!! Here it goes!
Unfortunately, after researching for a while, there isn’t an exact method or science to determine the origins of superstitions, actually it’s mostly guesswork :S
So! I will mention few of the theories that I was able to come by:


1. One theory actually considers it a modern combination of two OLDER superstitions; that Friday is an unlucky day and that the number 13 is an unlucky number.

  • Friday has been considered as an unlucky day at least since the 14th century’s “The Canterbury Tales” (it’s a collection of  stories written in Middle-English by Geoffery Chaucer at the end of the 14th Century; that’s if you are interested in reading it 😀 😛) where it regarded Friday as an unlucky day to undertake any journeys or begin any new projects. Black Friday has been associated with the stock market crashes (as many of us might know since the last crash in Egypt….or not :D) and other disasters since the 1800s. It also has been suggested that Friday was considered as an unlucky day because according to the Christian scripture and tradition, Jesus was believed to have been crucified on a Friday. 
  • While in numerology; the number 12 is considered the number of completeness, as reflected in many things as in the 12 months of the year, 12 signs of the zodiac, 12 gods of Olympus, 12 hours of the clock, 12 Apostles of Jesus, 12 days of Christmas, 12 labors of Hercules, and one well known to everybody 12 eggs in a dozen :D; etc.

                          Whereas the number 13 would be seen to break the uniformity and the regularity and transgressing this completeness. There is also a superstition, thought by some to derive from the Last Supper or a Norse myth, that having thirteen people seated at a table will result in the death of one of the diners.

2. On the other hand, the author Charles Panati considered that the superstition can be traced back to ancient myth:

The actual origin of the superstition, though, appears also to be a tale in Norse mythology. Friday is named for Frigga, the free-spirited goddess of love and fertility. When Norse and Germanic tribes converted to Christianity, Frigga was banished in shame to a mountaintop and labeled a witch. It was believed that every Friday, the spiteful goddess convened a meeting with eleven other witches, plus the devil – a gathering of thirteen – and plotted ill turns of fate for the coming week. For many centuries in Scandinavia, Friday was known as “Witches’ Sabbath.”(Wow! Creepy :D)
3. Another theory about the origin of this superstition goes back to the event of the arrest of the legendary Knights Templar. According to one expert:
The Knights Templar were a monastic military order founded in Jerusalem in 1118 C.E., whose mission was to protect Christian pilgrims during the Crusades. Over the next two centuries, the Knights Templar became extraordinarily powerful and wealthy. Threatened by that power and eager to acquire their wealth, King Philip secretly ordered the mass arrest of all the Knights Templar in France on Friday, October 13, 1307 – Friday the 13th. And if you are like I and love to read mystery, adventure and thriller books; then you would be familiar with The Da Vinci Code which popularized the connection between the superstition and the Knights Templar. However, some experts think that it is relatively recent and is a modern-day invention. For example, the superstition is rarely found before the 20th century, when it actually became extremely common. While; there is an argument that there is no references before 1907 but seen thereafter the publication of the popular novel Friday, the Thirteenth by Thomas W. Lawson. 
4. An even further theory goes back to the combination of Paganism, Christianity and the Battle of the Hastings. For many, the number 13 was considered a lucky number (such as 13 lunar cycles each year), but with the efforts of Christianity attempting to degrade all things Pagan, they promoted 13 as an unlucky number, with Friday thus also being considered a bad day of the week. However, on Friday the 13th of October 1066, the decision was made by King Harold II to go to battle on Saturday the 14th of October, rather than allow his troops a day of rest (despite his army having made a long and arduous march from a battle near York just 3 weeks earlier). This decision in going to battle before the English troops were rested (the English lost and King Harold was killed), further established Friday the 13th as an unlucky day.


Okay! After this some research and historical background of what the origin of this origin might have started, lets talk about some fun or cool stuff, like when is the next occurrence for a Friday the 13th?
Easy the nearest one is this August 2010 :D……if your birthday is on the 13th of August…..you might consider to go out 😀 since in some places like in Holland its considered the safest time to go out….since many whom believe in such superstition stay at home, making the streets less crowded and safer 😀 How about that? 😉


Did you know that some hospitals have no room 13 :O, while some tall buildings skip the 13th floor (I do not know how does that work), and some airline terminals omit gate 13. Another fact (I think), it’s that Fidel Castro was actually born on Friday, August the 13th 1926 (that makes him how old now? 84? Wow! 1926 😀


While some people actually intentionally plan events on Friday the 13th! Like what you say?
An easy one is many horror movies; the recent example is Resident Evil 5 which was released in the US and UK (not Egypt :P) on Friday March 13th 2009 :D; and four of the 12 films in the Friday the 13th series, including the most recent which is the remake of the second, were released on a Friday the 13th 😀 Other than horror movies, the 2004 Olympics ceremony of Athens Olympic Games took place on Friday August 13. Did you know the seals on the back of a dollar bill include 13 steps on the pyramid, 13 stars above the eagle’s head, 13 war arrows in the eagle’s claw and 13 leaves on the olive branch? I checked that myself 😀 on the one dollar bill…check it yourself 😀


‘But why did i ever think of writing this blog? Simply because of the number itself…..number 13….people thought that the common fear is of the number itself…but it’s the combination of it coming on a Friday…
But not that only, it’s because on the 13th of Feb 2010, was the official new beginning of my dear best friend with her chosen loved one, and wanted to show that the number 13 can be a LUCKY one. May it be a good and amazing memory for you dear sis! I hope from now on your new life would be full of happiness and success!


Oh and before I forget the fear of Friday the 13th (one of the most popular myths in science) is called paraskavedekatriaphobia, as well as friggatriskaidekaphobia (frigga remember?? :D). Honestly don’t try to ask me how this is even pronounced :D, I just hope I spelled them right :S


34 thoughts on “"Friday the 13th"

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    1. I’m really sorry for your long and MISSING comment!
      I’ve always loved to write!
      my only problem is to keep up with it!
      to be more of a routine in it!
      I am interested in a lot of stuff as you noticed!
      So that distracts me from a general and specific topic as many other blogs do!
      So either try to stick to a certain genre, a specific topic; like photography, books, movies, mysteries and so on!
      Or do it like me: write whatever comes up into your mind! What ever interests you or annoys you!
      I write my blog just for that! its a good place to state my ideas, my interests and a good place to store them 😀
      Thank you for commenting! need anything! I’m glad to help 😀
      And i am glad you enjoyed reading my blog 😀
      If your interested about any certain topic, tell me, i can research it and write you something about it 😉
      I”l be following your blog and see how it goes 😉

  2. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my website :).

  3. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  4. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  5. Good day. Basically needed to make a short statement and enquire exactly where you grabbed your particular blog layout I might be commencing own web-site and honestly really like your particular template.

    1. It was one of the themes provided by wordpress…
      been along time since I chose it
      sorry do not remember the name of the theme

  6. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, pop! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this site could undeniably be one of the most beneficial in its field. Good blog!

    1. thanks for the advice…
      i do think of adding videos and pictures to my posts..
      but to be frank… i am still getting the hang in using wordpress…
      learning new tricks step by step

  7. Sup. Actually wanted to leave a brief statement and question exactly where you grabbed your internet page model I am launching own page and honestly appreciate your personal graphics.

    1. i always thought of doing that…
      but never had the time…
      I will really think about it…
      checking out your blog right now 😀

  8. Pingback: Homepage
  9. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Feel like commenting? Leaving a reply? You are more than welcome to :D ;)

