Two Books at the same TIME

So, at last I finished reading “The Godmother”, took me just over a week to finish it. And I even wrote about it in my last post: “The godmother ~ by Carrie Adams (3)”.

Now, what will I read? I ended up passing the bookstore yesterday and I couldn’t, I just couldn’t stop myself from buying two books, even though I have many of unread books lying in piles collecting dusts at home.

So? What did I buy you say?

I bought two totally different books:

  1. The Help by Kathryn Stockettwhich I chose because I have just watched the movie, which I liked, and as a rule I had to just get the book and read it. I usually prefer the book over the movie. I like to see if they portrayed the novel good enough or not in the film. *The critic within speaking *The bookworm speaking 😛
  2. The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: My Family’s Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World by Lucette Lagnado which I bought in its Arabic version:

الرجل ذو البدلة البيضاء الشركسكين

This book is about life in Cairo, Egypt in the 1940s during World War II and about a Jewish family leaving their home to find another stable one. As you see this book is more of a biography, which I find interesting, and might help to shine some light on the history of my country that I love.

I wanted to put for you a better description of this book, so I will just quote for you this one:

In vivid and graceful prose, Lucette Lagnado re-creates the majesty and cosmopolitan glamor of Cairo in the years between World War II and Gamal Abdel Nasser’s rise to power. Her father, Leon, was a boulevardier who conducted business on the elegant terrace of Shepheard’s Hotel, and later, in the cozy, dark bar of the Nile Hilton, dressed in his signature white sharkskin suit. But with the fall of King Farouk and Nasser’s nationalization of Egyptian industry, Leon and his family lose everything. As streets are renamed, neighborhoods of their fellow Jews disbanded, and the city purged of all foreign influence, the Lagnados, too, must make their escape. With all of their belongings packed into twenty-six suitcases, their jewels and gold coins hidden in sealed tins of marmalade, Leon and his family depart for any land that will take them. The poverty and hardships they encounter in their flight from Cairo to Paris to New York are strikingly juxta-posed against the beauty and comforts of the lives they left behind.

An inversion of the American dream set against the stunning portraits of three world cities, Lucette Lagnado’s memoir offers a grand and sweeping story of faith, tradition, tragedy, and triumph.

Yes! None of these two books will count in my 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die ……… BUT WHO CARES 😀 I am just enjoying reading them 😀

3 thoughts on “Two Books at the same TIME

    1. Thank sel!
      I checked your blog as well….
      following and loving what you wrote…..
      you’re pretty good 😀
      I would love to be blog buddies 😉

Feel like commenting? Leaving a reply? You are more than welcome to :D ;)

