Found in Translation

I always thought about that………..
Translation!!!
Just a few weeks ago I bought an Arabic book, when I found out it’s translated from the English Version.
I was a bit down, I always preferred reading a book in it’s original language. So this limits me to two main languages and two basic ones, “English and Arabic”, and “French and German”, respectively.
I always preferred reading the Arabic novels of the great write Nagib Mahfouz, and not the ones translated in English.
I used to believe you lose the meaning of many things, the in-between the lines thoughts… but a few days into reading my translated book and I am LOVING IT ๐Ÿ˜€
So coming by this post, I just had to reblog it ๐Ÿ˜€
So my dear friends enjoy reading it ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜‰

FicFaq

Literature in translation is meat and if you are not reading them, you are missing out on a whole new world. Around 60% of all translations are from books originally published in English, but only 3% of books in a foreign language are translated into English. A glaring disparity without a doubt and one that smacks of arrogance? Or is it that translated works do not sell? Murakami, Paulo Coelho, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, T Steig Larsson are writers whose books sell in their millions. When I buy a book, the thought that never crosses my mind is whether it is a work of translation. I am happy as long as it is in English. All my favorite books were originally written in a different language. And yet there are readers who avoid reading translated works as they have no faith in the fidelity of the translations. They are more worriedโ€ฆ

View original post 664 more words

5 thoughts on “Found in Translation

Feel like commenting? Leaving a reply? You are more than welcome to :D ;)

