“The Help” ~ Read it before you Watch it!

Read the BOOK before you watch the MOVIE!

I decided to read “The Help” after all the hype it got from the media and the movie.

“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”
— Kathryn Stockett (The Help)

To be honest, I watched the movie first and I usually prefer the book than the movie. But in this case, even though I liked it, I frankly prefer the movie.
Sometimes, it lost me, I would leave the book after reading a few chapters and go read another book, taking so much hard work to start reading it again.
What might have made me finish it, was the simple notion of comparing the movie and the book:

  • How different they are?
  • What was emitted?
  • What detail was added?

So, not to spoil it on others! It ended up with a disappointment, the movie was BETTER.

As always I like to post some quotes I liked from the book, I have written my favourite at the top 😀 But here below are some more.

“Wasn’t that the point of the book? For women to realize, We are just two people. Not that much separates us. Not nearly as much as I’d thought.”

“Ever morning, until you dead in the ground, you gone have to make this decision. You gone have to ask yourself, “Am I gone believe what them fools say about me today?”

“All I’m saying is, kindness don’t have no boundaries.”

“I’m sorry, but were you dropped on your head as an infant?”

 “I used to believe in em (lines). I don’t anymore. They in our heads. Lines between black and white ain’t there neither. Some folks just made those up, long time ago.”
Dropped as an infant! Hilarious 😀
I personally loved the few stories Abileen got to tell Mae Mobily, simple and direct to the point that she needs to deliver. *These I will post later!
So, have you read “The Help” already? What are your reviews?
**If you haven’t I recommend you to read it, and try to do that before you watch the movie. 
***That’s my OPINION at least 😉
2 thoughts on ““The Help” ~ Read it before you Watch it!

Feel like commenting? Leaving a reply? You are more than welcome to :D ;)

